El Pulpo Negro

MY OLD MAN AND THE SEA - David Hays, Daniel Hays


A father and son sail around Cape Horn

Más detalles


$350,00

Disponibilidad: Este artículo está temporalmente sin existencia

0 artículo disponible


Some fathers and sons go fishing together. Some play baseball. David and Daniel Hays decided to sail a tiny boat 17,000 miles to the bottom of the world and back. This is their story.

David is romantic, excitable, and reflective; Daniel is wry, comic, and down-to-earth. Together their alternating voices weave a story of travel, of adventure, and of difficult, dangerous blue-water sailing. The Caribbean, the Panama Canal, the Galapagos Islands, Easter Island, Cape Horn, the Falklands - these far-flung places spring vividly to life in My Old Man and the Sea.

Father and son don't always get along, though. Daniel has been an uneasy and uneven student. Now, just out of college, he's unsure what to do next. He sees his father growing older, slower, more forgetful. David is haunted by memories of his own father, of the things they never said to each other, and the fear that he'll make the same mistakes with his son. But he gets angry when Daniel treats him like an old man.

On this voyage, the son will become the captain, and the father will relinquish control. Before long they are at sea, headed for the huge waves and unceasing wind of the Southern Ocean with only their skill as sailors, a compass, a sextant, a ship's cat, and Sparrow, the 25-foot boat they've built together.

Lovers of sailing and travel books will find this often hilarious, often moving tale of voyage and self-discovery to be in the tradition of Farley Mowat's The Boat Who Wouldn't Float, Bruce Chatwin's In Patagonia, and Paul Theroux's The Happy Isles of Oceania. But more than that, it's the story of a father and son who go down to the sea to find each other, and of what they bring back.

  • Dimensiones: 14 x 22 cm.
  • Encuadernación: Tapa dura
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • Páginas: 231
  • Peso en gramos: 400 gr.

Carrito  

(vacío)

Los más vendidos

  • TIMONEL VELA FACIL - Hernán Biasotti
  • CONDUCTOR FACIL - Hernán Biasotti
TIMONEL VELA FACIL - Hernán Biasotti
Desarrollo del programa y 190 preguntas....
CONDUCTOR FACIL - Hernán Biasotti
Desarrollo del programa. 175 preguntas y sus...
PATRON DE YATE FACIL - Hernán Biasotti
Manual Argentino del Patrón de Yates a...
TIMONEL MOTOR FACIL - Hernán Biasotti
Para lanchas de alta potencia y cruceros de...
CLAVES PARA LA NAVEGACION FELIZ - Hernán Luis Biasotti
En veleros, cruceros y lanchas

Los artículos más vendidos